Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

We had our Halloween party last night, so I’ll be posting pics from that soon enough – can’t give away all that Halloween goodness before you’re in the festive spirit! (Isn’t it still too early for Halloween?!)

And I’m still going to post pictures of my parents’ place “before” – I finally got some high-quality pictures  (not taken on an iPad – ahem) – but I wanted to post something quick today that made me super excited!

We went to Homesense (how I love thee!) to find my parents an armchair for their family room – we found a great one with a grey-on-white geometric print that everyone loved and was super deep and cushy. I always go there with the intention of spending 5 minutes in the one department I’m looking for stuff in – but that never pans out. The lamps come calling, then I have to look through the rugs for that perfect geometric zig-zag a la Madeline Weinrib, then we have to look through the kitchen gadgets because Paul wants to, then the knick-knacks are right there, so we have to look at those quickly – and that’s when I saw it:

It’s the Jonathan Adler Artemis Vase from his Santorini collection! I recognized it, turned it over – and there was “Jonathan Adler” on the bottom!! I almost dropped it! I have never seen anything Jonathan Adler before at Homesense, so I snapped it up. It was only $25 – regular $88! “Start the car!” I think this would look great with some fuschia peonies.

I really wish, to be honest, that the Pandora Box from the same collection had been there – I’ve actually been coveting this for a while – but we looked around for a good 15 minutes afterward to see if there was any other Jonathan Adler stuff to no avail. I’m really going to have to pay more attention to that section in future – it’s usually the place I frequent last, but that might change now!

Then I styled the remainder of the area so I had a cute picture:

That’s an old discarded TV dinner stand I found in our basement garage that I painted white with gold stripes, the Brooklyn Larder Gelato print, with a frame from IKEA, a Vancouver 2010 card that I framed also from IKEA, some books that aren’t in storage right now, some random knick knacks and the IKEA Tisdag lamp. It’s so colourful that I might have to tone it down. Oh, and there’s a marble egg that I got from the Salvation Army.

Love!

AFC

