So, you may have noticed in my first official post that I mentioned I’d just gotten back from my honeymoon…so it follows that I got married! Or actually, the honeymoon follows that I got married – but I digress.

Everyone in my and P’s families really came together to make the day both memorable and almost completely hand-made. Our photographers, Holly and Roger over at Union Photographers, were WONDERFUL and documented all of our details beautifully. Here‘s the link to our wedding in their blog – check out the video they made with music that fits the day to a T!

Anyway, I really am getting at something here, and it’s the garlands you’ll see hanging from the ceiling in many of the pictures. I really wanted to add some interest to the ceiling in the hall where we had the reception, and I wanted to do it a) cheaply, b) myself (but also eventually with the help of my bridesmaids, mom and even my dad – thanks guys!), and c) originally. So here are the results below (see more in the link to the blog):

I made them in white, yellow, coral and gold, and you can see peeks of them throughout the blog pictures.

So what follows is my first ever tutorial, on how to make the garlands. I made them in 45 cm sections, so we had to make TONNES of these. If you attempt these you’ll see that they take a looong time to do, but I think the effort was well worth it on the day.
1. Gather supplies

You’ll need:

– fishing line

– scissors

– a sewing needle with an eye big enough to fit the fishing line through

– tissue paper

2. Cut a length of fishing line and tie the end in a small loop.

You can cut the line to whatever length you like, but I usually worked with about 45-60 cm lengths during the project, then tied them together at the end. It means you don’t have to push the paper down the string as far. I recommend tying the loop because then you don’t need to worry about how big your knot is and whether the paper will slip off.

3. Fold paper into a 6 by 10 cm rectangle and cut out an oval of approximately the same size

The idea here is to cut out as many ovals as possible – you’re going to need tonnes, so it’s important that you cut out as many as you can at once – efficiency!!

4. String your needle with the fishing line, then pick up three of the ovals, fold them in half, then squish the sides of the folded oval together to form a small flower.

5. Turn the flower over and pierce the base of the bud with the strung needle, pulling through to the knot. Continue making and stringing buds until you’ve formed a garland, being careful to not push the buds too hard towards the knotted end; you want them to stay nice and fluffy.

Aren’t they pretty? Like little strings of clouds.

Here’s a pic I took while making them – that’s maybe 1/10th of the total we made:

I think these would be really pretty at a birthday party strung over the table, or around the door when bringing baby home.

AFC

